Skip to Main Content

Biblioteca Tec - Investigación: Políticas de Autoarchivo


Políticas de Autoarchivo


Versiones del documento

La publicación puede compartirse en alguna de las siguientes versiones:

  • Pre-print: Es el borrador que se envía a revisión por primera vez.
  • Post-print: Es el borrador con las correcciones solicitadas por los revisores.
  • ​Versión del Editor: ​ La versión final del documento tal como se imprimirá en la revista (con los encabezados y datos de la revista).

Scholarly Publishing: Glossary of Useful Terms

Accepted Author Manuscript

The final version of your manuscript that has been peer-reviewed and accepted by the publisher for publication.  It includes all final edits recommended through the submission and peer-review process, but has not been copy-edited and branded by the publisher. Also known as a post-print. This is not the same as the publisher’s PDF.

The majority of publishers allow you to comply with funders open access requirements by making your accepted author manuscript freely available.
 

Article Processing Charge (APC)

A publisher’s fee for covering publishing costs such as those associated with editorial and peer-review processes. Upon payment of an APC the paper is made open access immediately on publication (gold open access). 

 

Date of Acceptance

The date an article is accepted, after peer review, for publication by a journal. The Tri-Agency require that an article must be deposited in an institutional or subject repository within 12 months of this date.

 

Embargo

A period of time during which access to scholarly work is restricted to those who have paid for access. This can be between 3 to 36 months, depending on the publisher agreement. Once the embargo period ends, an article that has been deposited to the repository, but ‘hidden’ from public view can be made available automatically online (if permitted by the publisher) to anyone with an internet connection.

 

Gold Open Access

Publishers make research articles immediately and freely available upon publication in an open access journal.  The journal usually requires payment of an article processing charge.

 

Green Open Access

The author makes a version of a research output freely available via an institutional or subject repository. Publishers stipulate the version of manuscript that can be self-archived and the length of embargo period following publication before the paper is made open access.

 

Hybrid Open Access Journal

A hybrid open access journal is a subscription journal in which some of the articles are open access. This status typically requires the payment of a publication fee (also called an article processing charge or APC) to the publisher.

 

Institutional Repository

An online archive of an institution’s scholarly outputs. The collection can include publications in peer-reviewed journals, books and book-sections, technical reports, working papers, monographs, conference presentations, audio and visual materials, or any other research content that has some scholarly value. 

 

Metadata

Information that describes digital objects. For items in open access repositories, this usually consists of a full bibliographic citation, abstract, keywords, and other information to help make the item discoverable via web search engines.

 

Open Access

The online availability of scholarly work via the internet, free of charge to anyone from anywhere to access and read, provided they have a connection to the internet.

 

Open Access Journal

Open access (OA) journals are scholarly journals that are available for free online to the reader.  Publication in an open access journal usually requires payment by the author of an article processing charge. 

 

Post-print

The final author-created version that incorporates all edits and amends following the review process, and is the version accepted by the publisher for publication. Also known as the Accepted Author Manuscript. This is not the same as the publisher’s PDF.
 

Pre-print

The version that has been submitted to a journal for peer review. Also known as a pre-print.
 

Published Version of Record

The publisher-created version. This is the final published version including the publisher’s copy-editing, proof corrections, layout, and typesetting.​

 

Self-archiving

The process of depositing your research output in an open access institutional of subject-based repository along with bibliographic metadata describing the work. This means that your research is available to the widest possible audience, including journalists, policy makers, industry and the general public - anyone who may not have access to the content via a journal subscription. 

 

Subject Repository

An online archive of open access literature in specific fields or disciplines e.g. PubMed Central Canada (health and life sciences) and arXiv (Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics).   To find a subject repository in your discipline please search the Directory or Open Access Repositories. 

 

Submitted Author Manuscript

The author's draft version that has been submitted to a journal for peer review. Also known as a pre-print.
 


Sherpa Romeo

La base de datos Sherpa/Romeo contiene las políticas de derechos de autor y de permisos de autoarchivo que explícitamente han declarado las principales editoriales y revistas del mundo. Puede acceder a este recurso desde la dirección:

http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

IMPORTANTE: Un autor cede los derechos de explotación comercial de su obra a la editorial, pero mantiene los derechos de autor de la misma. Esto significa que el autor puede compartir sus artículos en tanto no dañe los derechos comerciales de la editorial. En la mayoría de los casos esto puede realizarse desde la página personal del autor o desde el repositorio de la universidad.

Además de las condiciones generales que dicta la editorial o la revista, debe poner especial atención a la versión del artículo que puede compartir. Por favor tómelo en cuenta desde antes de enviar el artículo a la revista para preveer qué versión del documento podrá autoarchivar en el repositorio.

SHERPA services are:

  • SHERPA RoMEO gives a summary of publishers' open access archiving conditions for individual journals.

SHERPA RoMEO is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.

  • SHERPA Juliet enables researchers and librarians to see funders’ conditions for open access publication.

SHERPA Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders’ policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving.

  • SHERPA REF service helps authors and institutions decide whether a journal allows them to comply with the OA REF policy.

Related services

OpenDOAR, which enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories is also in the SHERPA services family.